Nomination Process Commences for Assam’s High-Stakes Lok Sabha Polls


Guwahati: The Election Commission has announced the commencement of the nomination process for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Assam. Four constituencies, including the high-profile Guwahati, are set to go to polls in the third phase.

Voting in Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri, and Kokrajhar (ST) constituencies is scheduled for May 7th. The nomination process began with the issuance of notifications for the third phase across the country.

Kutch Ho Ya Guwahati, Apna Desh Apni Maati: Amit Shah

Candidates have until April 19th to file their nominations, with scrutiny set for the following day. The deadline for withdrawal of candidature is April 22nd.

In Guwahati, BJP’s Bijuli Kalita Medhi and Congress’ Mira Barthakur Goswami are expected to face off in a closely watched contest. Other constituencies see notable candidates, including Phani Bhusan Choudhury of AGP in Barpeta and Deep Bayan of Congress in the same constituency.

Tough Competition Anticipated In Kaziranga Lok Sabha Constituency Amid Delimitation Changes

Rakibul Hussain, the Deputy Leader of the Congress Legislature Party, is set to contest from Dhubri, challenging AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal and AGP’s Javed Islam. In Kokrajhar (ST) constituency, United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) nominated MLA Joyanta Basumatary, while Congress named Garjan Mushahary and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) fielded Kampa Borgoyary.

The BJP-led alliance aims to maintain its stronghold in Assam, currently holding nine seats in the Lok Sabha. The Congress, with three seats will look to challenge their dominance in the upcoming elections.

As the political landscape heats up in Assam, the stage is set for a fiercely contested battle that will shape the state’s representation in the Lok Sabha.

Leave A Reply