7th Pulin Das Memorial Lecture 2023 Inspires Sports Innovation in Guwahati


Guwahati: The 7th edition of the Pulin Das Memorial Lecture 2023 was held at the Vivekananda Kendra Institute of Culture in Guwahati on Sunday. The lecture was hosted by the Assam Sports Journalists Association (ASJA) in association with the Pulin Das Memorial Committee (PDMC). The annual lecture is held every year on July 16, marking the death anniversary of the legendary sports personality and pioneer sports journalist of Assam, Late Pulin Das.

The subject of this year’s lecture was ‘Sports, Sportspersons, and Sponsorship’.

Former India volleyball captain Abhijit Bhattacharya advocated for innovation in sports events to attract the attention of the corporate sector for sponsorships.

Citing the example of the prestigious Bordoloi Trophy Football Tournament, Bhattacharya said that if marketed properly in an innovative way, the corporate sector would come forward to sponsor the tournament.

Guwahati Airport Promotes Safety Awareness With FOD Walkthrough Campaign

“We have products, but we need to be innovative and think outside the box to push it to the next level,” he said.

In this context, Bhattacharya mentioned his revolutionary idea of the Brahmaputra Volleyball League (BVL), which is spread across Assam with the support of individuals from across the world. He also mentioned that the success of the BVL has drawn the attention of the world Volleyball body, which is taking the initiative to support the league.

Earlier, ASJA president Subodh Malla Barua delivered the welcome speech at the event, which was anchored by Sushim Ghosh. Pulin Das Memorial Committee secretary Kalyan Kumar Das also spoke on the occasion and remembered the legacy of Pulin Das. ASJA’s founder president Balendra Mohan Chakravarty also spoke about the invaluable contributions of Pulin Das to sports journalism in Assam.

Besides, a host of prominent sports organizers were present on the occasion. Retired bureaucrat Swapnanil Baruah, Guwahati Sports Association (GSA) president Paresh Ch Das, former GSA presidents Pulak Goswami and Munin Nobis, Nayan Prasad, and former shuttler Pradip Chalia were among others felicitated by the ASJA on the occasion.

In earlier editions, noted sports personalities, including former India hockey captain Dilip Tirkey, former India badminton captain Sanjay Sharma, former AIFF vice president and founder of Shillong Lajong FC Larsing Ming Sawyan, former Supreme Court judge Justice (Retd) Mukunda Kam Sarma, veteran sports journalists Lokendra Pratap Sahi, and Jaydeep Basu delivered the lecture over the past few years.

অসমীয়া কোৱাৰ বাবেই গুৱাহাটীত অনা অসমীয়াৰ আক্ৰমণ

Leave A Reply