Sushmita Goswami Wins Presidency and Sanjoy Ray Becomes General Secretary in Guwahati Press Club Elections


Guwahati: In the elections held at the Guwahati Press Club (GPC), Sushmita Goswami emerged as the new President. Goswami received a total of 422 votes, reflecting the trust and support she gained from the members.

Meanwhile, Sanjoy Ray secured the position of General Secretary with a strong victory, earning 466 votes.

The newly elected executive committee of the GPC also includes Jatin Bhagawati as Vice President, and Aloka Boruah as Vice President (reserved for women). Dilawar Hussain Majumdar was elected as Assistant General Secretary, Mitali Konwar as Assistant General Secretary (R), Azad Gogoi as Sports Secretary, Manindra Deka as Treasurer, Pallabi Bora as Cultural Secretary, and Kishor Sharma as Organizing Secretary.

The press club, which provides a platform for journalists in the region, saw a large number of members participating despite the hot weather.

The GPC elections witnessed fierce competition among the 25 candidates vying for the ten important positions in the club’s executive committee.

Out of the total 998 registered general members of the Guwahati Press Club, an impressive 906 members exercised their right to vote, showing the active participation and involvement of the club’s members in the election process.

Leave A Reply