BJP Releases First List of Candidates for Assam Lok Sabha Elections


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced its initial list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Assam. Out of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in the state, the BJP has decided to contest 11 seats, reserving three for its coalition partners.

Remembering Harinarayan Dutta Barua: Tribute To A Literary Luminary

According to the first list comprising 195 candidates, the Assam Gana Parishad (AGP) has been allocated two seats, while one seat has been given to the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), led by the Bodoland Territorial Region’s Chief Promod Boro.

Notable changes include the replacement of the present MP, Rameshwar Teli, with Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal for the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat. The crucial Nagaon seat, expected to witness a fierce electoral battle, has been assigned to Suresh Bora.

Shocking Incident In Assam: Borrower Forced To Sell Kidney To Repay Loan

In a surprising move, Bijuli Kalita Medhi has been nominated by the BJP to contest from Guwahati, sidelining the present MP and influential BJP leader, Queen Oja. The Silchar seat will see Parimal Suklabaidya, the current State Forest Minister of Assam, as the BJP’s candidate.

Veteran leader Pradan Baruah will once again represent the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency for the BJP. Other candidates include Kamakhya Prasad Tasa for Kaziranga, Ranjit Dutta for Tezpur, Tapan Kumar Gogoi for Jorhat, Kripanath Mallah for Karimganj, Amar Singh Tisu for Diphu, and Dilip Saikia for Darrang – Udalguri constituency.

Leave A Reply