Riyan Parag Earns Spot in Indian Cricket Team for Zimbabwe Tour


Riyan Parag’s outstanding performances with the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League (IPL) have secured him a place in the Indian men’s cricket team for the upcoming tour of Zimbabwe. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed the 15-member squad on Monday, marking a debut for both Parag and Dhruv Jurel in white-ball cricket.

The Indian team is set to play five T20Is in Harare, Zimbabwe, from July 6 to 14. Parag’s selection comes on the back of his impressive form in the shortest format over the past year, particularly during IPL 2024.

Parag was the highest run-scorer in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s premier domestic T20 competition, in 2023, with 510 runs from 10 matches, boasting an average of 85.00 and a strike rate of 182.79. In IPL 2024, he was the top run-getter for the Royals and third overall in the tournament, accumulating 573 runs from 14 innings at an average of 52.09 and a strike rate of 149.21.

Shubman Gill will captain the Indian team, which includes new faces such as Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, and Tushar Deshpande.

Indian Cricket Team for 2024 T20 Series vs Zimbabwe – Full Squad:

Shubman Gill (captain)
Yashasvi Jaiswal
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Abhishek Sharma
Rinku Singh
Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper)
Dhruv Jurel (wicket-keeper)
Nitish Reddy
Riyan Parag
Washington Sundar
Ravi Bishnoi
Avesh Khan
Khaleel Ahmed
Mukesh Kumar
Tushar Deshpande

Leave A Reply