Political Dynamics Shift as Over 200 Leaders Join Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) in Assam


Guwahati: In a significant political development, more than 200 office bearers from various political parties in Assam, including Assam Congress and Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP), switched allegiance and joined the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) on Monday. The joining event took place at the AGP headquarters in Guwahati and saw the participation of notable figures such as Apurba Kumar Bhattacharjee, former General Secretary of Assam Congress, and Paban Saikia, Central Secretary of Asom Jatiya Parishad.

Assam Down Town University Marks 16th Lamp-Lighting & Oath-Taking Ceremony

AGP President Atul Bora, AGP Working President Keshab Mahanta, and other key leaders attended the event, emphasizing the importance of unity to strengthen AGP as a formidable regional force in Assam. This influx of leaders from different political backgrounds is expected to reshape the political landscape in the state.

This follows another major political shift in Assam where prominent leaders, including former Assam Youth Congress president Angkita Dutta and former AASU president Dipanka Kumar Nath, formally joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday, further impacting the political dynamics in the region.

Leave A Reply