Assam’s First Phase of Elections Sees 70.77% Voter Turnout


Assam’s electoral journey for the Lok Sabha kicked off with the first phase witnessing a significant turnout of 70.77%. The phase covered five Lok Sabha constituencies: Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Sonitpur, Lakhimpur, and Kaziranga.

Among these, Dibrugarh recorded the highest voter turnout at 76.20%, followed closely by Jorhat with 70.65%. Sonitpur saw 69.84% polling, Lakhimpur recorded 68.34%, and Kaziranga marked a turnout of 68.90%.

Six Assam Candidates Excel In UPSC Civil Services Exam 2023

In this phase, the BJP contested in all five seats, while the Congress participated in four, supporting the Assam Jatiya Parishad candidate in one. Additionally, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) contested in two constituencies, and the All India Trinamool Congress and CPI(M) each contested in one.

The prestigious Dibrugarh constituency witnessed a three-cornered contest with Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, AJP’s Lurinjyoti Gogoi, and AAP’s Manoj Dhanowar in the fray.

Jorhat saw four candidates vying for victory, including Lok Sabha’s Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Gaurav Gogoi, and BJP MP Topon Gogoi.

In Kaziranga, BJP’s Rajya Sabha MP Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and former Congress MLA Roselina Tirkey contested, both representing the tea workers’ community. Kaziranga witnessed the highest number of candidates with 11 in the fray.

Sonitpur, formerly Tezpur, had eight nominees, with BJP MLA Ranjit Dutta, Congress candidate Prem Lal Ganju, and AAP’s Rishiraj Kaundinya in the running.

Lakhimpur saw nine contestants, including sitting BJP MP Pradan Baruah and Uday Shankar Hazarika of the Congress, among others.

As Assam navigates through the electoral process, the focus now shifts to subsequent phases with eager anticipation and political fervor.

Leave A Reply