AAP Dissolves Assam Unit Ahead of 2026 Elections


The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced the immediate dissolution of its Assam unit as part of its strategic preparations for the 2026 assembly elections. This significant announcement was made through the party’s official X handle, highlighting the necessity to fortify the party’s structure in anticipation of the elections.

Despite this dissolution, the current State President, State Secretary, and State Treasurer will maintain their roles until a new organisational framework is implemented. To oversee the restructuring process, AAP has constituted a Working Committee. The committee includes Dr. Bhaben Choudhury (Convenor), Manoj Dhanowar (Co-Convenor), Rajiv Saikia, Mamun Imdadul Haque Chaudhary, Rishiraj Kaundinya, and Anurupa Dekaraja.

Meanwhile, Assam Chief Minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma has expressed his confidence in the BJP-led NDA’s success in the 2026 assembly elections, aiming to secure 90-100 seats. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won nine out of the 11 seats it contested, its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) secured one out of two seats, and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) claimed one seat. The Congress-led INDIA bloc won three out of the total 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam. The Assam Legislative Assembly consists of 126 constituencies.

Leave A Reply